Getting Uglier

The Dallas police officer who pulled over the Houston Texans’ Ryan Moats, pointed a gun at his wife during a traffic stop, and prevented Moats from visiting his mother-in-law on her deathbed may have been spoiling for a fight. Busted Coverage unearthed this Internet posting by Robert Powell, the officer in question, written during his academy days:

“The count downs begins:

18 days of work then the real work starts and I can shoot people.”

It’s possible he was joking, but it’s also possible he’s a sociopath.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Getting Uglier

  1. FQ

    I heard on the radio that he “resigned.”

  2. daynperry

    That’s probably for the best.

  3. FQ

    I don’t understand what it is about prosecutors and law enforcement. I want to say that cases like Stevens, Nifong, and Fitzpatrick (even Guiliani) are isolated events of prosecutorial excess, but it happens too often. The same goes with cases regarding law enforcement – a total lack of judgment.

  4. daynperry

    Thing is, I tend to trust cops more than I do prosecutors. Thankfully, I have had few dealings with the former and none with the latter.

  5. FQ

    I should have been more careful with my statement earlier. Some law enforcement are great – some dude broke into my car and the cops who responded were incredibly professional and helpful. Secondly, I definitely shouldn’t have singled out the two professions. I think the problem I have is when people generally take on an entitlement attitude and this Moats situation was merely another example.

    Do you have any legal education? My bro is in law school and I had him read your Case against the Case post. We loved it.

  6. daynperry

    Nah, I got what you meant. You’ve definitely got some cops who use the badge as a license to be a tough guy.

    I took the LSAT once, but that’s the extent of my legal education. Thanks for passing that along to your brother.

  7. David

    The issue is that we shouldn’t allow this to happen.
    If your reading this please start being active in what is left of our free country. Write to your congress man or woman, your state representatives , senators and governor, hell even the president. I’m mad as hell about this and I’m not going to take it anymore!
    Start an organization in your community and lets get pin heads and bigots out of authority. This has left such a sour taste in my mouth I can not bear to swallow this as truth. I must say how incompetent and unprofessional this situation has projected for the DPD, shame on your lack of judgment to character. A nim-wad as “powell” should be as easy as an apple in a hay stack to point out.

Leave a Reply

